top of page

The End?

This last week has brought the possible final product of the animation... and a title (finally!)


Over the past week, I've fine-tuned some of the shadows, I left a couple shadows out that were not going to be noticeable regardless, but worked on some of the moving shadows and the changing of size as the characters move (especially when jumping). Another thing I did was actually getting down a solid music track. It's compromised of four different songs now, instead of just one, and while I'm no music major, I did what I could to blend the songs into each other (or at least transitioning from one song to another when the scene changes).


Some, maybe noticed change, is that I finally actually updated the backgrounds for some of the scenes that really needed it. Especially the playground. I also changed up the bedroom a tad bit, and I think the style sort of deviates from what I was doing, but I like it nonetheless. A little bit of honesty here: I would probably go back and redo most of my backgrounds. I like them all for how they turned out, but I would probably do them in a completely different style or something if I went back and had a lot of time to revise and redo the backgrounds.


I also finally gave the name "To Blob or Not to Blob". This both reflects the indecisiveness in my ability to find a good name but also a little bit of the idea of the ability to be oneself, contemplating the idea of "do I be myself how I want to be seen or continue with this current path?". Although, the story isn't that deep, it could be taken as that.


The main character, our rainbow buddy, doesn't actually have a name (nor is that incredibly relevant as there is no dialogue), but if I had to officially give a name to him, I'm not sure I could do it. In a sense, and what was the original idea, was to bring light to the idea of the trans community and to let them be themselves, and that (at least sometimes in the real world) it is absolutely a-okay to present how you want to present. It sort of circles back to the idea of the title, because of the idea of "to come out and be myself or to continue to be closeted".


Overall, I think I did catch up to where I wanted to be. Obviously, I was working on a time limit, and decisions had to be made to cut some smaller details or bits from the animation, but I'm pretty content with how it's turned out.

Bình luận


bottom of page